If you are injured on the job, would you know what to do? Officials with the North Carolina Industrial Commission outline the process but speaking to an experienced law firm is always the best course of action when lost-time from work and medical treatment are required.
According to the United States Department of Labor (DOL), there were more than 4,380 people killed on the job in the U.S. in 2012. Thousands more were injured throughout the year. Of these injuries, a majority (roughly 60 percent) occurred in traffic accidents, followed by falls, homicides and struck-by accidents. Of the traffic-related fatalities, 512 deaths (close to 30 percent) resulted from a roadway collision with another vehicle. Pedestrian vehicular incidents constituted the second greatest number of transportation-related fatal injuries.
Our Rock Hill workers’ compensation lawyers know the first thing you need to do if you were injured on the job is to make sure that you seek medical assistance. Typically, the treating health care provider must be authorized by the Workers’ Compensation Board, except in an emergency situation. Your employer just might have a health care provider on your work site. If your employer wishes for you to see that individuals, present yourself to that health provider if appropriate. Depending on your circumstances, appropriate health care may be obtained from your family doctor or a hospital emergency room. You are also welcome to get second opinions on your condition.
While receiving the medical attention that you deserve, you want to make sure that you point out that your accident happened on the job and include the name of your employer. By providing this kind of information, health care personnel can make sure to bill treatment as a workers’ compensation claim.
If you can’t report the incident personally, make sure that you have a family member, friend or your healthcare provider do so. Any claim by an employee must begin by filling out and submitting a form to the NC Industrial Commission.
Fourth, you want to make sure that you provide written notice to your employer, within 30 days. In this statement, you want to give information regarding the accident, including the date, location and a description of the accident and injury. If you are not able to write the letter you can also have a friend or family member do it. Make sure you keep a copy of this letter for your own records.
It’s important not to be lured away from the mission at hand — properly reporting the accident. Traps to look out for after an injury happened on the job are the “manipulative” bosses or coworkers. Though these individuals may not actually wish harm to an injured worker, the pleas to “not report” right away, or “take the day off, see if you feel better,” can be devastating if you decide to listen to them.
Lastly, you’ll want to make sure that you follow all of the instructions that your healthcare provider has offered you. Getting better is one of the most important factors in these situations.
If you have been injured at work in North Carolina, contact the Lee Law Offices at 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
NC Work Injuries: OSHA Safety Plans and New Regulations for 2014, North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Blog, January 9, 2014
Charlotte Work Injuries Cause Extensive Worker Absence: Report, North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Blog, December 31, 2013