Our teeangers are growing up so fast. Many of our kids are entering the work force (or getting ready to with the upcoming summer) and it’s important that we’re making sure they’re safe on the job and they they’re being treated fairly.
The best way for us to do that is to make sure that they’re aware of their rights and responsibilities on the job.
According to the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, children under the age of 14 are not allowed to work in the state, with few exceptions. Our Rock Hill workers’ compensation lawyers are here with a few reminders to help keep our young ones safe out there in the work force.
Child Labor Laws in South Carolina, 14- and 15-years-old:
-Workers age 14 and 15 can work no more than 3 hours a day on school day. They not allowed to work more than 18 hours a week either. Their work shifts are required to fall between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.
-When there is no school in session, 14 and 15 year old workers are allowed to work up to 8 hours a day, but no more than 40 hours a week. Their work hours must fall between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.
-These young workers can only work in specific jobs, like serving food, cashiering, car washing, delivery work without a motor vehicle, bussing tables and/or custodial duties.
If your young work is 16- or 17-years-old, they’ve got an entirely different set of rules to follow:
-These workers are exempt from the scheduling and hour restrictions.
-They are allowed to work as many daily and weekly hours as their job requires and as their employer requests.
-These workers are not allowed to engage in any work that has been deemed dangerous. These definitions can be found in the 17 Hazardous Occupations Orders of the Fair Labor Standards Act.
South Carolina Employment Laws for Workers Over 18:
-These workers do not fall under the rules or enforcement of child labor laws.
-If you are 18-years-old, you’re allowed to work at any time at any job.
If your young one is preparing to enter the work force, share the YouthRules! website with them. This is a site designed by the U.S. Department of Labor and provides our young workers with everything they need to know.
Federal law establishes certain safety standards and restrictions for young workers. If you are not yet 18, you are prohibited from being employed in occupations that have been declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. There may be some exceptions that apply to your particular situation, and different rules apply to work in agriculture. Make sure you’re aware of these regulations and that you’re working in a safe environment. Your future and your safety rely on it. Make sure your teen feels comfortable in the workplace and are willing to speak up to the supervisor or employer.
If you or your child has been injured at work in the Carolinas, contact the Lee Law Offices at 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
Restaurant Injuries and Young-Worker Safety in the Carolinas, North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Lawyers Blog, March 10, 2013