It’s Labor Rights Week. This is a week-long celebration that’s held from the 27th of August through the 31st. Making work places safer for employees is the main focus of Labor Rights Week. Hilda L. Solis, the Secretary for the United States Department of Labor (DOL), says that upholding worker rights should be a responsibility and a priority of everyone.
The DOL especially focuses its safety efforts on migrant workers and employers while focusing on U.S. labor laws. Solis adds that the DOL is committed to making sure that workers are not only safe, but that they’re paid for the work they complete under the proper wages laws. Currently, no one working in the United States can be paid less than $7.25 an hour. Most also deserve overtime. Overtime pay will be granted to those who work more than 40 hours a week. The Federal Minimum Wage was last changed in July of 2009.
Our Asheville workers’ compensation lawyers understand that there are federal laws in place that govern how much each U.S. work should be paid for their time spent on the job. These laws include right of migrant workers, child labor and overtime pay in addition to regulating the country’s minimum wage. The DOL’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is one of the organizations that is also dedicated to protecting workers from unfair treatment on the job and from on-the-job work hazards.
Throughout the entire week, there will be Labor Rights Week events taking place throughout the country.
Currently, there are some job positions in which employees can be paid less than the minimum wage and can be paid an hourly wage that’s lower than the Federal Minimum Wage under specific circumstances. Some of these individuals include those who get tipped on the job (like waitresses). They can be paid less than the minimum wage as long as their tips add up to at least the current minimum wage. Also in this category are employees who work at seasonal establishments, like summer camps. Workers who are under the age of 18 can also be paid less than minimum wage for training periods. These periods can last no longer than 90 days. Lastly, there are some institutions, like universities and nonprofits, that may obtain a certificate to pay workers under the minimum wage.
Currently, the minimum wage in the state of South Carolina is also $7.25 an hour. South Carolina has no state-specific minimum wage law, instead has decided to adopt the Federal Minimum Wage by reference.
All South Carolina employers are required to display an approved South Carolina minimum wage poster in the work place for all workers to see. It must be located in a prominent area and alert workers about not only to their minimum wage rights, but about other worker’s rights under South Carolina labor law.
If you or your teen has been injured at work, contact Lee Law Offices, P.A. for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your rights. Call 1-800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
Summer Increasing Youth Work Nationwide, Accident Risks Up Too!, North Carolina Workers Compensation Lawyers Blog, August 23, 2012
Young Worker Population Increasing, Hazards on the Rise, North Carolina Workers Compensation Lawyers Blog, August 21, 2012