Employers in North Carolina are not permitted to conduct mandatory OSHA training in long days of classes

The Occupational Safety & Health Administration is revising policy for outreach training programs in an effort to ensure workers are not being inundated with safety information.

Our North Carolina work accident attorneys understand how important mandatory safety training is to the safety and welfare of employees. At the same time, particularly in this tough economy, we know employers are sometimes reluctant to reduce productivity by holding necessary or required safety training sessions. Additionally, determining whether employees received required training can assist in filing a claim.

OSHA’s new policy will limit training to a maximum of 7 1/2 hours a day; previously there was no limit and employers were creating 13 hour days, including 10 hours of training. OSHA was concerned that fatigued employees might be missing critical safety information and the condensed schedules were not always meeting 10- and 30-hour program requirements.

To address those concerns, the new requirements will mandate that 10-hour courses be conducted over two days and 30-hour courses will be held over at least four days. A hotline has been set up at 847-725-7810 where complaints can be filed about fraud or abuse in connection with mandatory safety training requirements.

“Limiting daily class hours will help ensure that workers receive and retain quality safety training,” said Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSHA David Michaels.

The new rules become effective immediately and OSHA will no longer recognize time spent in training classes in excess of 7.5 hours a day.

If you are dealing with a work accident in North Carolina or are dealing with a worker’s compensation or disability claim, contact the Law Offices of Lee & Smith today for a free and confidential appointment to discuss your rights. Call 800-887-1965.

Contact Information